Day One of the Challenge

Day one of the challenge…here is the task as set forth by Tesra

Day One:

  • Make a list of 5 things you would change if you knew you only had 30 days to live.
  • Choose one of the above to start today.
  • Describe how you would like your life to be different at the end of these 30 days. What has prepared you to be where you are right now?

Tell at least one other person that you’re taking on this challenge. Ask them to check in with you 30 days from now.

Hmmmm.

Okay here goes.

Make a list.

1. Don’t stress the small stuff.
2. Be sure that all of my children know what they mean to me if they don’t already.
3. Finish as much of the Family tree as possible and give it to my children.
4. Write.  Doesn’t matter if it’s blogging, on Helium, on scratch paper.  Just Write.
5. Make sure that Keith is taken care of.  Doesn’t matter if I have to write him ten years worth of daily affirmations. Anything to remind him that I am and always will be with him.

Okay….that was actually more difficult that I thought.

Moving on..Now I have to pick one to work with…

Surprisingly I’m going with Number 4. I’m going to write.

Now it’s not because I don’t want to leave something of myself for my children or Keith.  I do.  And short of being there to hold their hand and hug them and kiss them, the best thing I can think to do long term is to write.  Perhaps doing that, I can talk to them after I am no longer here

Does that make sense?

When the thirty days are done, I’d like to know that I have found my voice.  So often when I write, I am too critical of my voice.  I imagine so many posts or articles or letters in my mind at any given time, I imagine my words having meaning for somebody ANYBODY, besides just myself.  But when it comes time to actually type, I type a sentence…then read it, then delete a word, add two more.  Delete another three words.  Contemplate what it is I really want to say.

I want my family to hear my voice long after I am gone.  I want them to feel that I am not gone.  Perhaps it’s my own vanity…a way to keep myself in their hearts and minds.

What do you think?

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Day One of the Challenge”

  1. Tasra Dawson Says:

    I love your choice to pursue your writing. And I know what you mean about the constant critic that seems to attack you every time you get a word on the page. But, as you so rightly pointed out, the goal is not perfection, but leaving a legacy. Your family will cling to every word from you…so give them a lot to hold on to!

    Thanks for joining the challenge!

  2. Croton Says:

    I love your choice to pursue your writing. And I know what you mean about the constant critic that seems to attack you every time you get a word on the page. But, as you so rightly pointed out, the goal is not perfection, but leaving a legacy. Your family will cling to every word from you…so give them a lot to hold on to!

    Thanks for joining the challenge!;. All the best!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

