Motherhood–Anthony Style, Take Two.

I told myself that I was going to leave the Casey/Caylee Anthony coverage alone…I had no intention of re-hashing  news reports, primarily because it is so heartbreaking and it is just….horrifying.

Then I read the latest this week regarding details of how Caylee was found, and how Grandfather George Anthony had attempted, or at least contemplated with a high degree of seriousness, suicide to be with his granddaughter.

Wow. 

I think the little detail that got to me the most was not that Caylee’s body was wrapped up in duct tape and then covered in a Winnie the Pooh blanket (that’s just mindboggling enough.)…What REALLY got to me was the presumed intentional placing of a heart shaped sticker on the duct tape.  What kind of warped message is there….

And then George Anthony sends suicidal text messages to his family saying that he wanted to be with Caylee…and the harsh, judgmental side of me says “that’s a little to little to late….why didn’t you acknowledge the evidence earlier and realize that your daughter is an exceedingly ill person who hurt your grandbaby.”  And the understanding compassionate side of me says “Don’t be like that…I couldn’t imagine thinking that ill of my child and there would be no reason to think that your daughter would hurt her child….”

What a Sucky situation all around.  I try to imagine that I am cynical enough about the world in general and the human condition that very little fazes me…unless it involves a child….This just stuns me.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Motherhood–Anthony Style, Take Two.”

  1. paula Says:

    I agree with your views – this case is bringing out the worst in all who are interested. I find myself having very little compassion for Cindy and George and then I feel guilty for feeling that way. Lots of mixed emotions here but not towards Casey!

  2. Kim Says:

    I think Casey should pass away just like she had her daughter go to heaven to me and this is my opoion she is not a mother she never should have anymore children she thinks her life had to be a big party even when Caylee was here on this earth she didn’t even want to say good bye to her daughter when they had her funural today 2-10-09 but you know that little child now can finally R.I.P. and I think the whole family knew what had happened to little Caylee and they just didn’t want to talk and they still won’t they all will take it to there grave with them. This is all and this is all my opoion.

Leave a Reply

