Parental Accountability….

Once Again, this post was inspired by CNN.

There is an article with an excerpt by Jack Cafferty..in any case, the article has Cafferty’s perceptions that parents are not taking responsibility for their children….Wait, let me clarify, they are not accepting accountability for their Children. Here’s a quote:

“Parents’ growing inability to impose manners and limits on their kids when the kids are in school is reflected in record dropout rates, as well as teen drug and alcohol abuse, teen sex, and unwed pregnancies. Maybe it’s parenting that’s on the decline, more than the schools. “

I agree with this. Parents have given up on raising their children with disipline….but whereas Cafferty pretty much chalks this up to “it has to do with the breakdown of authority, the collapse of strong family structure, and the abdication of parental responsibility, dictated in part by the necessity that both parents work.” I believe there is some truth in this, but his point actually makes mine as well.

The reality is that we are a society of extremists. In a matter of 50 years we have gone from corporal disipline in the home to “time outs.” We went from children being un-spared by the rod, to realizing that sometimes parents went overboard and that was abuse, to those children growing up and out of rebellion and out of spite, deciding to do the opposite and go into uber-“nuture” mode and placate their children.

Don’t get me wrong. My dad was strict. My dad went overboard to the point where I had bruises on my backside more often then not. Did I deserve it? Who knows. I didn’t think of myself as a bad kid…but I lack the parental perspective on my kidself. But dad, right wrong or indifferent taught me something about accountability and responsibility.

I know children today in my family that didn’t have that kind of disipline and I do believe that there is a correlation between a lack of disipline and the lack of control and bounderies that most children today have….I’m not saying that beating your kids is the way to go…if you don’t feel right spanking, I’m okay with that BUT you have to counter that with something that teaches accountability.

Cafferty is correct…no child is more special then another. To us, yes they are, but to society? No. I hope that more parents start to understand that we are raising a generation of narsicisstic children who have no concepts of bounderies….What’s funny to me is that when I was growing up as a teen ager and a young adult, all I heard was that corporal punishment only teach violence and that disipline was not the way to go, that it bred devient behavior.

So what does raising a child with no concept of boundries breed?

Parenting is not easy and those pesky kids don’t have the common courtesy to come with an owners manual, but at some point parents have to actually take the time to RAISE their children, not just coddle them. There has to be a middle ground between the velvet glove and the iron fist. The trick is to find it.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

