Death and Dignity.

The following Headlines are screaming at me from CNN.com

  • Farewell to the King of Pop
  • Fans across country mourn Jackson
  • LA wants help paying for Jackson Memorial
  • Fans assemble for Jackson Memorial
  • Web braces for Michael Jackson onslaught.

I am a child of the 80’s. I be-bopped around my house listening to Michael Jackson’s “going to be starting something.” Thriller was the second cassette tape I ever owned. I memorized every dance step in the “Beat it” video. I LOVED his music. I was in Junior High, it was expected. As an adult, I questioned his motives and whether the complaints or allegations with his “inappropriate” behavior with minors. As a parent, I was wary.

I received an email from CNN’s breaking news stating that “Michael Jackson’s golden coffin is placed in front of the stage as his memorial service gets under way in Los Angeles.” I am appalled. Let the man go. He was not a saint. He WAS a gifted musician who changed the course of the pop music genre. He WAS a good spokeperson for the charities and causes that he believed in.  He WAS able to use his “stroke” to bring awareness to issues.  But he WAS also a man, one that dangled his third child from the balcony as a joke. He WAS a man with his demons. He WAS NOT a God. He WAS NOT royalty. He WAS NOT perfect.

I truly believe that Liz Taylor has it right. She is bypassing the public spectacle and choosing instead to pay her respects in private. That is unlike the Jackson family themselves.  That’s how it should be. Paris Jackson should not be expected at her age to publicly speak on her father’s death at this time.   Show the man (and his children) some dignity, and let him go get the peace in death that he never received (and yet so obviously was desperate for) in life.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

