My Obsession.

I can’t help it.  I see dead people everywhere.  I have books of my father’s family that go back to 1700, in one, line and 1600 in another, I have my mother’s family back to 1600 in France.  I’ve even decided to step up and trace my husbands family line back to Norway and to prove that he has an ancester directly related to Bonnie Parker.  I see Dead People.  I see them trying to show me who they are and how they lived.  I see old black and white scanned pictures of men and women that have contributed to my gene pool but have never met me.  I have been known to wake up at two AM, thinking of a new search criteria to find another dead ancestor.

I don’t know when I developed this obsession, but I am relieved to know I am not the only person out there who sees dead people.  I know why I see them.  I want my children and grand children to have an idea where they come from, who they might have been…

Imagine my shock 7 years ago when I realized that the precious baby that I had  planned for was actually a PAIR of beautiful mirror image girls….There were no instances of twins in my family or my husbands….or so I thought….

My great-great aunts were twins.  Hmmmm.  Like I said, I see dead people everywhere.  I see them in the eyes of my girls, or in a mannerism.  My grandaughter is staying with us temporarily, and apparently she has developed my raising of the eyebrow.   That mannerism has been passed down for at least 4 generations in my life time, and rumored to have been present in two more generations. 

Sometimes to see where we need to go, we need to have a clear understanding of where we have been.  I hope that my girls grow up sharing my obsession with personal family history.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

