Movie Review–Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince

Perhaps some spoiler space is in order, although if you have read the series, it is rather redundent…Don’t read further if you are anti-spoiler

 

 

okay, so the 23 y/o and I went to a pre-screening of the New Harry Potter Movie last night.  As with the last two movies, there were things that were omitted for the sake of time constraints that should have been included IMO.   Overall I’d have to say that this was well done for the 5 venture to Hogwarts.  During the first part of the movie the majority of the audience was chuckling consistently at the inside jokes that only a follower of the previous movies can truly appreicate.

I have to say that the character of Ron has exceeded my expectations as the comic relief portion of the Hogwarts trio.  Rupert Grint has some amazing timing and that’s just about as much as I can say…well let’s just say that you have to imagine the Character of Ron swooning like a love sick puppy, and then being the relunctant toy of one Lavander Brown.  The Relationship between Herminone and Ron, Harry and Ginny moved along nicely without being too smaltzy.

IMO the one thing that this movie missed the mark with, was the explaination of who the Half Blood Prince was and why he was called the Half Blood Prince.  There was no explaination, just a “I am the half blood prince” by said character.

Overall, not a bad flick.  I think it’s perfect for Tweens and teen and adults.   The last half hour was intense enough with “scary” drama that I wouldn’t take anyone younger to see it in the theatre.  But that’s just me…when it comes out on DVD, the girls will most likely watch it with me so I can answer any questions.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Movie Review–Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince”

  1. Kara-Noel Says:

    I totally agree… they went nowhere with the half blood prince thing. In the book you also learn A LOT more about Tom Riddle… not so much in the movie… goog flick though.

  2. Kara-Noel Says:

    LOL! I mean “Good flick”

Leave a Reply

