Question of Morality

I’m having writers block.  It’s probably because I’m writing on two blogs, and Helium.  And working on my genealogy stuff.   Needless to day I visited my favorite Thursday meme Thursday Thunks and found this topic. It actually made me go “Hmmmmmmmmmmm.”

    You walk into a store and the cashier is being held up by a robber. The robber’s accomplice is dead on the floor at your feet with a shotgun laying next to him. The robber does not see you, but the cashier does – what do you do?

 This kinda opens things up for all kinds of moral dilemma’s now doesn’t it? On one hand, I don’t believe that I have the right to decide who lives or dies in this world. Not my job, and I don’t get paid to make those decisions.  But then again, I owe it to the cashier to help out, to protect his/her life as his/her fellow Man/Woman.  Add to that, I’m a recovering Redneck, and it’s my inherent mindset that if there is a gun at your feet to pick it up and point it somewhere.  I try to overcome that nature of mine, but sometimes it just doesn’t work.

So back to the question of morality: Would I pick up the shotgun and point it at the bad guy and tell him to drop his gun or I will I go head behind the rack of Hostess cupcakes and quietly try to dial 911?

I can’t lie, I’d sneak the gun away and go hide behind the fruit pies, dial 911, set the open phone on the shelf next to the Ho-ho’s and then cater to my redneck tendencies and use the shotgun to make the Bad guy reach for the sky.

but that is just me…What about you?

4 Responses to “Question of Morality”

  1. Christy B, Says:

    A recovering redneck? I thought that was incurable. 😉

    This is a dilemma I will never actually have to deal with, since we (six children, hubby and I) rarely enter a place unnoticed!

    • caliphoenix Says:

      with two sets of twins, a 6 month old and my 18 month Grandbaby, we draw a crowd as well….lol…perhaps it was wishful thinking that I would have the availability to sneak into a store unnoticed.

  2. Andrea H Says:

    I think I’d do the same thing in that situation.

    I would love for you to visit me and comment on my Blog Hop Post: http://www.moodymamasays.com/2009/07/23/top-10-reasons-i-am-excited-to-stay-home-with-my-family-this-coming-weekend/

  3. wanda Says:

    I’m from the south!

    We take care of business!

    I’d go all crazy white woman on him! 🙂

Leave a Reply

